Introducing the Chair of EAI, Joanne Ross

Bord Gáis Energy’s Joanne Ross, Head of Legal & Regulation, was appointed Chair of the Electricity Association of Ireland (EAI), the representative body for the all-island electricity sector in 2018.

Ms. Ross provides strategic advice to help the Association shape energy policy on the island-of-Ireland and in Europe, and promote the strategic role of electricity in providing energy services in a decarbonised, sustainable future.

Joanne was elected to the position of EAI Chair in May 2018  and will serve a three-year-term. The appointment follows her election to the EAI Board of Directors in May 2015.

Upon her election Joanne said:

 “I’m delighted to be appointed to the position of Chairperson of the Electricity Association of Ireland. The electricity and gas retail industry is undergoing massive changes and EAI’s new corporate strategy, which is currently in development, will provide a roadmap towards the industry’s vision of a decarbonised future with the needs of the energy customer at the core. I hope to continue the good work of previous post holders and look forward to working closely with the knowledgeable and experienced EAI Directors and Secretariat as together, we embark on this vital journey.”

EAI Chief Executive Dara Lynott will be working with her and the Board to continue to promote the fundamental role of electricity in providing energy services in a decarbonised, sustainable future, in particular through the progressive electrification of transport and heating. The EAI believeS that this can be achieved, in the overall interest of society, through competitive markets that foster investment and innovation.

EAI membership comprises utilities that represent over 90 per cent of generation and retail business activities and 100 per cent of distribution within the Single Electricity Market (SEM). Members range in size from international power utilities to independent single plant operators.

EAI promotes its vision through constructive engagement with key policy, regulatory, technology and academic stakeholders both at domestic and EU levels.